Semester Break

The Last Day of Pompeii by Karl Briullov [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
When you think of taking a break, you imagine temporarily ceasing an activity and doing something different in order to refresh; but what if your work and your recreational activities fall into the same genre?
During the midyear break in my Diploma of Visual Arts I have continued to draw and paint; I have collected materials and sculpted, taken photographs and worked on plates to put through the printing press.
I continue to work in my journal, scrawling ideas and exploring the logistics of bringing them to fruition.
Last week I met with my writing group; wrote and edited a few poems, and submitted a short story to a competition. I delivered a workshop on mind drawings and absorbed the stories in several books.
Despite, or maybe because of, these activities I feel rested.
Second term begins on Monday, but before then I shall help a client to explore the world of the Montagues and Capulets in preparation for her school studies of Romeo and Juliet next term.Sic Pic 2 by Jenni Ivins
The Brunswick Street Gallery launches its 2012 Small Works Exhibition, in which I have three “Mental Meandering” drawings (the first formal exposure of this work). The show opens at 6pm tonight and the winners in the Small Works $10,000 Prize will be announced at 7pm.  http://brunswickstreetgallery.squarespace.com/

Sic Pic 14 by Jenni Ivins

On Saturday I shall be delivering a creative writing workshop, Exciting Writing, at Hampton Park Library as part of the City of Casey’s Winter Arts Program http://www.casey.vic.gov.au/winterartsprogram/
and in recognition of the National Year of Reading. http://www.love2read.org.au/
I shall show participants the basics of story structure, where to begin a story and how to hook your reader. I’ll also teach them to harness a good supply of writing ideas.

My section of The Last Day of Pompeii

On Sunday I plan to paint some more of my section of a reproduction of The Last Day of Pompeii, a collaborative project that will culminate in the installation of a huge tessellated mural of the famous painting by Russian painter Karl Briullov to be installed at the Chisholm Institute in Frankston later this year.

I love the fact that both my work and my recreational activities are in “The Arts”. For me, every day contains enrichment and creative satisfaction.

Sic Pic 15 by Jenni Ivins

Leave a Reply

