Further developments of The Friendship Tree

For those who haven’t read my earlier post, today’s instalment continues the story of a watercolour and ink picture I was commissioned to make for a friend to give to his writing buddy so she had something positive to focus on at a time of medical concern. The picture represents elements of the world they write about.

When I handed over the finished drawing of The Friendship Tree the story did not end there. I granted permission to Langley Porter to make a copy of the picture for his own wall. I felt that was appropriate as it was his writing world, too.

He also had a laminated copy made that was 5′ x 3′ that he presented to me in appreciation. It was a fabulous gesture and it has been very useful.

I was interested to see the line work stood up to being enlarged. I had made most of the drawing with a 0.1 pen. And no magnifying glass was needed to see the detail at this scale.

The picture looked great on the wall behind the counter in the Maryknoll Post Office when my Mind Drawing exhibition toured to the gallery there. The picture is also perfect up closer as a story starter tool in writing workshops.

But the picture became even larger – it was projected onto the side of the Cardinia Cultural Centre when the Mind Drawing exhibition and workshops stopped there for a couple of months. (Please ignore the typo in my name. I was still excited to see my work in lights.)

IMG_5687.JPG

I applied to exhibit at the Casey Civic Centre Art Space and was successful – but rather than having wall space in which to hang my Mind Drawings, I was allocated the glass cabinets.

IMG_3892.JPG

Happy to be part of their Art Program, I embraced the challenge and converted prints of The Friendship Tree into wearable art to display on the glass shelves. (Thank you YouTube for developing my skills).

IMG_7402.JPG

IMG_7400.JPG

IMG_7404.JPG

IMG_7399.JPG

I experimented with various printing methods and papers, and explored a range of polymers and techniques.

IMG_7421.JPG

IMG_7435.JPG

IMG_7439.JPG

IMG_7420.JPG

Cutting out shapes to exactly fit the mountings was very time consuming and fiddly. And the polymers often have bubbles that need to be burst. (I don’t like bursting bubbles.) Some artists don’t worry about an occasional bubble. Instead they describe them as being part of the character of a piece.

IMG_7398.JPG

IMG_7408.JPG

IMG_7409.JPG

IMG_7403.JPG

I tried a different technique using multiple layers of watercolour paper to shape jewellery that needs no mounts and I was very happy.
Though still time consuming, I really enjoyed the process. I like the creativity this method offers that the other does not.

IMG_7396.JPG

I also applied the technique when creating this year’s entry for Blarney Books and Art’s BiblioArt Awards. – I’ll leave that adventure for another post.

What I have learnt from my experience with The Friendship Tree is that one work of art may have many incarnations. Next I think I’ll give it a new life on Red Bubble.
http://www.redbubble.com/people/jennilivins

Leave a Reply

