Early Signs of Being an Artist

I think I would be correct in saying the majority of Arts people make art, in whatever form they work, because they feel compelled to do so. And most likely their compulsions began to manifest early in life.
In my case
*Arts materials always ranked on my Christmas wish list.
*I made sculptures from any malleable materials I could access (including mashed potatoes).
*I collected materials to use in later arts projects.
*Our back porch was my stage for singing, plays and poetry.
*Our toy shed (a converted outdoor toilet) was a darkened theatre in which to make environmental art using light that shafted through empty nail holes in the walls to highlight the colours of autumn leaves.
*At Girl Guides, I performed impromptu character sketches involving moths, foofy dust and improvised costumes.
*I gained popularity at school because of my poetry (alright, not so much for the well-structured verse as for subject matter that was inappropriate for a twelve year old).
*I traded stories for passion fruit and pieces of chocolate Easter egg.
*When visiting childless friends of my parents I drew pictures of their ornaments
*And I drew pictures of people from unusual angles to explore perspectives (and so they didn’t catch me drawing them).
*I enjoyed lying on the floor in the dark to listen to the piano being played.

How did your early Arts passions manifest?

2 thoughts on “Early Signs of Being an Artist

  1. With compulsions to dig whether with words or images, to find why I was drawn to a shape, a colour, a voice, a gesture. Stealing time to be alone where no one could see while I worked it out, then hiding the product so no one would ask why. Lots of collections of “material” to use, being drawn to people who seemed to have a story to tell that I would never hear otherwise. Always pushing to heighten the experience, lying to construct the metaphor that brought the point to light. And never signing my name to anything

Leave a Reply

